You should save your recovered files to a different drive than the drive from which the files are being recovered. This will avoid any possibility of the recovered files overwriting the original file data and thereby actually preventing a successful recovery. You can also save your recovered files to external devices such as USB memory devices, floppy disks and network shared drives.
Can I recover my files to a USB device or to a CD?
Recovered files can be saved to a USB device as the files can be written straight to such a device. However, writing to a CD drive usually involves making some use of the boot drive and therefore, to avoid the risk of overwriting any lost data on that drive, this is not permitted by FileRestore Professional.
Why do some of the recovered file(s) end with [FRP-1], [FRP-2]?
If there is an existing file in the specified Recovery location, that has the same filename as the file that is about to be recovered, the recovered file will have [FRP-1] appended to it. If another file of the same name is then saved to the same location, it will be appended with [FRP-2] and so on. This allows multiple versions of the same filename to be recovered safely without any risk of overwriting any existing files of the same name.
If you do not wish to have automatic duplicate file name post-fixing enabled, this can be disabled in Recovery Settings. When this is disabled, you will be prompted (with a warning pop-up) to confirm that you wish to overwrite the duplicate files.
There is more than one version of my file listed. Which one do I need?
When a file such as a Word document, Excel spreadsheet, etc is opened, temporary files with the same name may also be created with similar or identical properties. Using the Preview screen can help identify which file contains your data. If you are not sure which one to recover, ensure that the checkbox “Postfix Duplicate files with [FRP-1], [FRP-2], etc” is checked. This way each copy of the file will be saved separately with a different name. You can then open each saved version of the file to verify which is your required file.
What is the “Create Folder Structure” option in Recovery Settings?
This allows you to recreate a copy of the folder structure in the Recovery location i.e. Recovered files will be saved in a copy of the original folder. This is very useful when recovering multiple files, which may originally have been in separate folders. “Create Folder Structure” will save recovered files to copies of the original folders, for easy identification and manipulation after recovery.