In addition to providing for secure data recovery, a number of features have been implemented to provide for the secure use of FileRestore for Networks.
A user must have administrator rights to run FileRestore for Networks. The administrator may also deploy the remote client service that is required to connect to remote computers, with a number of security features enabled:
Client Password Authentication
When the client service is installed on the remote computer, it is recommended that a password be applied to the client. When this is applied, all subsequent connections to the client will only be possible when the password is entered correctly. N.B. The password can only be changed subsequently, by either the remote client user, or by the administrator.
If required, a remote user can set their own client service password. The administrator will only then be able to connect to the remote client if they know the client service password. N.B. It is possible for the administrator to reset this password by uninstalling the service, and then connecting again with a new password enabled in administrator settings. It is NOT possible however for ANY unauthorized user to reset this password.
Network Password Authentication
Administrator rights are required to run FileRestore for Networks. If the administrator does not have authentication to e.g. connect to a computer in a specific domain, then a Network Password log-in prompt will appear. Only once the user name and password are correctly submitted will access to the domain be possible. When the administrator inputs the secure authentication details they may save this information and the administrator will no longer be prompted to log-in. However, should they wish to view the log-in prompt again, this can be achieved by ticking the “Always prompt for network password” checkbox.
Prompt User to Accept Connections
A remote user can choose to have a screen prompt appear when the administrator attempts to connect to the client computer. When enabled, the client must either accept, or reject, the attempted connection from the administrator. When accepted, the administrator is then able to scan the client’s computer for the lost or deleted data. If the client prompt is neither, accepted or rejected then the connection will be automatically rejected after a short period.
A remote user can select “Who is connected?” available via the client system tray icon, and view the last 10 connections. This includes both successful and un-successful connection attempts. This details the date/time of the connection and from which IP address the connection attempt was made.